

भारतीयप्रौद्योगिकीसंस्थान (भारतीयखनिविद्यापीठ), धनबाद Indian Institute of Technology (Indian School of Mines), Dhanbad



For Immediate Release: August 2, 2023

PRESS RELEASE

Team Mechismu Racing Electric of IIT (ISM) Dhanbad excels in Pi EV 2023, 7th Annual Formula Student Racing Electrical Vehicle Concept Challenge; secures third position in overall category in event held at Banglore and also won best Failure Modes and Effect Analysis Report.

Team Mechismu Racing Electric of IIT (ISM) Dhanbad secured third position at the international level in the Pi EV 2023, the 7th Annual Formula Student Electric Vehicle Concept Challenge conducted by Formula Bharat at Bangalore.

The team has also won best Failure Modes and Effect Analysis (FMEA) Report and bagged third place in the Procurement Strategy and Engineering Design events.

Team Mechismu Racing is a Formula Student team established in the year 2008 that conceptualizes, designs, fabricates and races its formula-style race cars in several national and international events.

Herambh Dakshinamoorthy, vice-captain of team Mechismu Racing who is also Tech Coordinator of Electric Mobility Club said, "Ater a successful sprint in the Internal Combustion engine category in the past, we decided to shift to electric vehicles in the year 2022"

"This year, which is our second attempt in Electric Vehicles arena we have been able to bag a podium position, with a team from Indonesia placing first and the second team being from Islampur, India" further said Dakshinamoorthy.

"With the new achievement, we become one of the very few IITs that have got a top spot in the competition" added Dakshinamoorthy.

"We are currently working on fabricating the physical human-size model of this car, and being a student-run team, we derive our funds majorly from alumni, well-wishers, and fellow students and professors" said Dakshinamoorthy while appealing for fund help and added that with the support they will become 5th IIT of the country to build an electric race car.

The members of the team include, Divyansh Bansal, Aniket Kumar Sahu, Mudit Virmani and Gunda Akshaya (Steering & Suspension); Amit Hurmade, Vidushi Omar and Swarnendu Saha (Brakes); K Vivek, Shiv Prakash Mahto, Nikhil Kumar Bharti and Herambh Dakshinamoorthy (Powertrain); Tanisha Chandra, Rudra Pratap Singh Panwar and Muntaba Khan (Chassis): Dheeraj, Avula Neeharika, Sushant Kumar Roy and Roshan Sai Chandra (Operations and Sponsorship)

Rajni Singh

Dean (Media & Branding)

Phone: (0326) 2235447, Email: dmbc@iitism.ac.in